Thursday, October 14, 2010

47th Annual Freedom Fund Dinner and Silent Auction


Contact: Nimrod "Rod" Chapel, President NAACP Jefferson City Chapter

Phone: 573-230-6424

Jefferson City Branch NAACP Annual Freedom Fund Banquet and Silent Auction

"The Next 100 Years"

Capitol Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Silent Auction 5:30 pm

Dinner 7:00 pm

This year’s NAACP Annual Freedom Fund Banquet and Silent Auction will be an evening filled with excitement, elegance, and entertainment. The Capitol Plaza Hotel and Convention Center is the place where you’ll want to be on this Saturday, October 16th. The silent auction will kick off at 5:30 pm promptly and will last into the dinner as the bid competitions come to a climax! Items will include paintings, foods, presidential memorabilia, hotel stays, spa treatments and many other wonderful personal and household items. Music will fill the room at the Capitol Plaza Hotel as you gather with old friends and meet new ones. At 7:00 pm, dinner will be served. The menu was hand selected and will truly be a dining experience to remember! Guests will have two options. One option is a duet plate which includes English Sliced Roast Beef with Stuffed Mushroom Risotto and topped with a Mushroom Demi Glaze and Chicken Marsala. Mouth watering sides include Garlic Roasted New Potatoes, Green Beans Almandine, Rolls and Butter. If you don’t like that, you may prefer something a bit more on the southern side. The “Meal for Teal” may be your dinner choice for the evening. This includes Catfish served with Sweet Potatoes, Greens, and Corn Bread! Salads include Caesar Salad with Romaine Lettuce, Crisp Spinach Leaves, Shredded Parmesan Cheese, Tomato Wedges and Garlic Croutons with Caesar and Hot Bacon Dressing. For dessert the Capitol Plaza Hotel has a brand new desert that is simply delicious (especially if you are a chocolate lover) and you will be one of the first to indulge your taste buds with their Chocolate “Tiger Stripe” Cake. It’s totally new to their menu!

We hope you will join us for this semi-formal extravaganza!

The Jefferson City Branch NAACP is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Funds raised by the NAACP provide college scholarships, access to limited legal information, support for local prison branches as VIC’s (Volunteers in Corrections), officer training at district and state meetings, and representative participation at state and national conferences. In addition, chapter volunteers work with area school districts to promote understanding about diversity concerns, and work with the Armed Services on equity issues.

We want to thank the following organizations who have so graciously supported this event through sponsorships, silent auction donations, and purchasing tickets.

Riversong Spa & Salon

Bandana’s Bar-B-Q

J.C. Mattress Factory & Furniture

Director Kevin Willmott


Westgate Lanes

the Y – Jefferson City YMCA

Lasting Memories By Linda

Capital 8 Theaters

Glenn Bonner, Realtor

Papa John’s Pizza

Colton’s Steak House

Missouri National Guard Association


Code Blue

Central Bank

Home Savings Bank

Missouri AFL-CIO

Mid-America Construction Management

Rainbow Lanes

Eagle Knoll Golf Club




Papa Murphy’s Take ‘N’ Bake Pizza

Oak Hills Golf Center

O’Reilly Auto Parts

Wilson’s Total Fitness

Advanced Auto Parts

Mc Alister’s Deli

River City Habitat for Humanity

Best Western Capital Inn

Nimrod and Denise Chapel, Jr.

We also appreciate the many contributions from individuals and others who made personal and financial contributions to this fundraising event.

2010 Freedom Fund Awardees


Nimrod Chapel, Jr.
Jefferson City, NAACP

NAACP Announces 2010 Freedom Fund Awardees

Jefferson City, MO, October 15, 2010 — “Ideas such as justice and equality are only as relevant as we make them” says Nimrod Chapel, Jr., president of the Jefferson City, MO, branch of the NAACP. “These individuals and organizations we are recognizing have shown a sincere interest in turning democratic concepts into reality. It is a fitting tribute that they are recognized at this year’s 47th Annual Freedom Fund Dinner and Silent Auction on Saturday, October 16,2010 at the Capital Plaza. I encourage each of you to get to know these individuals and organization and continue your support for these most American of ideals.”

The 2010 Awardees are:


Lou DeFeo

The Rosa Parks Award is given to individuals who have committed their lives, and have exhibited dedication and commitment to the cause of equality and justice in the face of personal sacrifice, and for standing up against racism and discrimination.


Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys (MATA)

Missouri National Guard

Missouri Association for Social Welfare (MASW)

This Corporate/Public Image Award is given to a company or individual in the public/private sector, in recognition of its/their commitment and dedication to equal opportunity, employment, diversity, community support and leadership.


Victoria (Vickie) Meyers,

Anthony DeWitt,

SSG Terri A. Nichols,

BG Stephen L. Danner, and

the Honorable John Landwehr

This Presidential Choice Award is given to an organization or individuals in the public/private sector, in recognition of its/their commitment and dedication to equal opportunity, access, employment, diversity, community support and leadership.


Earnest Jackson

The Myrtle Smith Oden Service Award is given to individuals who have worked faithfully in the NAACP or other civic organizations for the overall betterment of the community.

“Honor those who have worked in their professional and private capacities as citizens to make our Community, state and nation a better place to live and truer to the ideals set forth in the Bill of Rights and Constitution” said Chapel. “Civic duty is the debt we owe for being a part of society and it is our only real opportunity to make communities better.”

Founded in 1909, the 101 year old NAACP is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, conducting voter mobilization and monitoring equal opportunity in the public and private sectors.